Costa Rica to allow U.S. travelers from only 6 states

Costa Rica airport

Costa Rica, which began accepting tourists on August 1, announced that it will reopen its doors to Americans from six states only.

The announcement made by the country’s tourism board on Wednesday said that starting September 1, residents of Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, and Vermont will be permitted to travel to the country.

“In these six states, there has been a very positive evolution of the pandemic and their epidemiological indicators are of high quality,” Gustavo Segura, Costa Rica’s Minister of Tourism, said in a statement.

In order to enter the country, American travelers will be required to present a valid driver’s license that shows they’re a resident in one of the approved states.

Tourists entering Costa Rica are also required to complete an online epidemiological health form prior to arrival and present negative results from a COVID-19 test administered within 48 hours of arrival. 

As of August 19, Costa Rica’s borders have opened to international tourists from the European Union, Europe’s Schengen Zone, the UK, Canada, Uruguay, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Singapore, China, and New Zealand.

Costa Rica’s tourism industry is worth an estimated $1.7 billion per year and welcomes more than 1.7 million visitors annually. Tourism activies in the Central American country revolves around ecotourism or excursions and experiences centered around conservation of the country’s many protected natural areas, including rainforests, volcanoes, and beaches.

About Author